Centre for Gender Advocacy Annual General Meeting April 13, 2015

Agenda

- 1. Approval of Agenda
- 2. Reading and Approval of Minutes of the 2014 AGM
- 3. Board of Directors Report 2014-2015
- 4. Staff Reports
- 5. Action Groups' Reports
- 6. Presentation of Financial Statements
- 7. Election of the Board of Directors
- 8. Other business

Minutes

Facilitator: Shay Hadley Minute taker: Kai O'Doherty

Meeting starts at 6.15

Recognition that this meeting is taking place on unceded Mohawk territory.

1. Approval of Agenda

Lui Ramirez motioned to approve Maya Rolbin-Ghanie seconded Unanimously approved

2. Reading and Approval of Minutes of the 2014 AGM

Rosemarie Marie Whalley motioned to approve Jules J seconded Unanimously approved

3. Board of Directors Report 2014-2015

Abby Lippman (President) presents the Board Report

Approval of Board Report Motion to approve by Lucy Anacleto Seconded by Mitchel Nardella Unanimous approval

4. Staff Reports

Maya Rolbin-Ghanie: Programming and Campaigns Coordinator

<u>Lucy Anacleto: Promotions Coordinator</u>

Gabrielle Bouchard, Peer Support & Trans Advocacy Coordinator

Anais Van Vliet, Interim Administrative Coordinator

5. Action Groups' Reports

Men & Feminism: Verbal report by Trampis Hogg, Scott Paradis, Cody Foster-Demeny & Kevin Gould

- Launched through the A Safer Concordia campaign
- New group: just started this year. Have spent a lot of time thinking about what role the group, and men, can play in the Centre's mandate.
- Actions:
 - Hosted an event with Chris Dixon: workshop on dismantling privilege in activist movements
 - o Group enrichment activities, such as weekly discussions on rape culture, masculinity, and feminism
 - Workshop given to male employees of Peoples' Potato on male privilege
- Working on a political action plan for next year

Dragonroot Radio: Verbal report by Hannah Besseau

- What is Dragonroot?
 - A radio show on CKUT (McGill) for the past four years, focusing on issues of feminist media
 - o Aims to produce anti-oppressive media, with a focus on gender

- What have they been up to?
 - o Training new coordinators and volunteers on media skills
 - Expanding to various types of media: news, online articles, radio show, archives, and youth programme

Visibilité Intersex: Verbal report by Janik Bastien Charlebois

- Committee started with the Centre in September
- Current goal for intersex activism for them:
 - o To end forcible sterilization of intersex bodies
 - Visibility
- This year:
 - Have focused on visibility, giving two presentations/documentaries in November
 - Submitted Access to Information request to Minister of Health regarding intersex minors in Quebec
- Upcoming:
 - Organizing premiere of English version of Herma XXY film soon!
 - o Looking into peer and non-peer support network-building
 - Working on capacity building as a group

6. Presentation of Financial Statements

Presented by Julie Michaud

Motion to approve by Scott Paradis Seconded by Lucy Anacleto Unanimously approved

7. Election of the Board of Directors

Chief Electoral Officer Ben Prunty 6 positions are open

Candidates:

Lui Ramirez (new nominee)
Nominated by Maya Rolbin-Ghanie
2nd by Alexandra Friedman
3rd by Cody Foster

Chantel Henderson (new nominee)
Nominated by Rosemarie Marie Whalley
2nd by Lucy Anacleto
3rd by Lui Ramierz

Rushdia Mehreen Nominated by Gabrielle Bouchard 2nd by Mitchel Nardella 3rd by Abby Lippman

Shehla Arif (not present)
Nominated by Monica van Schaik
2nd by EK
3rd by Maya Rolbin-Ghanie

Amy Collier
Nominated by Oliver Leo
2nd by Anais Van Vliet
3rd by Julia Michaud

Jules J Nominated by Mitchel Nardella 2nd by Veggie 3rd by Lui Ramirez

Kim Lee-Louis
Nominated by Maya Rolbin-Ghanie
2nd by Mitchel Nardella
3rd by Chantel Henderson

Scott Paradis
Nominated by Shay Hadley
2nd by Alexandra Friedman
3rd by Gabrielle Bouchard

Valerie Simon Nominated by Mitchel Nardella 2nd by Jules J 3rd by Shay Hadley Veggie
Nominated by Jules J

2nd by Mitchel

3rd by Rosemarie Marie Whalley

Election results

Shehla Arif Jules J Kim Lee-Louis Scott Paradis Rushdia Mehreen Chantel Henderson

Continuing/Returning Board Members

EK Abby Lippman Katharine Hall Rosemarie Marie Whalley

8. Other business

Motion to adjourn Rosemarie Marie Whalley Seconded Jules J

Meeting concluded at 8.50